Fair Work Commission’s 4 Yearly Review of Modern Awards – Penalty Rates

There is a lot of press at the moment on the Fair Work Commission’s decision with respect to penalty rates in the hospitality and retail sector. I have also seen a lot of commentary on social media around the decision. The decision is of particular interest to me as I am quite interested generally in Employment Law, but also because I spent a considerable time working in retail under Enterprise Bargaining Agreements that are substantially similar to the underlying Modern Award. Perhaps its because many friends who continue to work for that employer or doing similar work are affected by it that I have been inundated with commentary around it.

I’ve not yet had the opportunity to review the decision in full. However, a summary of the decision is available (as are all decisions of the Commission) on the Commission’s Website. There is also a dedicated page which contains records of all associated documentation. 

I intend to return to the topic once I’ve had a chance to thoroughly review the decision, so do check back for an update and my thoughts on the decision.

Leave a Reply

